Tags

, , , ,

Big Ben

The Tour

I started my trip with three days of sightseeing in London. I got into Heathrow at 8am and while tired I decided to deal with the jet-lag and keep going until exhaustion set in. First up was the British Museum, which was impressive to say the least and I could have spent all day in there and still not seen everything. The London Museum was next, this was definitely more my style of museum, big but not too big and it had a good range of exhibitions chronicling London’s history. Final stop was a quick look around the Tate Modern Art Gallery that being a Saturday afternoon was rather well packed with tourists and where I decided I’d had enough for the day. Went back and checked into my hostel, had a shower and was tucked up in bed by 7pm.

British Museum

Woke up after a full night’s sleep still rather tired so I stopped in at a little cafe to have a nice full English Breakfast. My second day was my biggest of the time spent in London so the big breakfast definitely kept me going for the day. Before I’d left for my trip, I had taken the time to plan a very full itinerary of all things I wanted to do, where they were, which tube station they were closest to, how much they cost etc. This allowed me to rather efficiently see a lot of sights in the one day. The second day I started at Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery, then headed to Natural History Museum and the Science Musuem. Stopped in a Buckingham Palace before hopping back onto the tube and getting off at Westminster station to see Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the Houses of Parliament. Walked across the river and down to the Imperial War Museum, which unfortunately was going through some major renovations in preparation for the 100 year anniversary of WW1, but still had a great WW2 exhibit about Life in London during the war and a detailed Holocaust exhibition. I then walked back towards the city and up to the London Eye for the quintessential London tourist experience. Took the tube back to Kings Cross where I grabbed some dinner and then went to bed pretty much exhausted.

Imperial War Museum

My last day to explore London before my trip started was a pretty laid back one. I went (mostly window) shopping on Oxford St where I bought some gloves and a nice dress from Topshop. I headed to Leicester Square where I stopped at Byron Hamburgers for a pretty tasty hamburger and visited what was basically heaven for a M&M fan, M&M’s World. By this stage my legs and feet were feeling rather sore and tired, mostly from my adventures the day before, so do something relaxing and found a nearby movie theatre to sit and chill for a couple of hours.

M&Ms World

The Food

Growing up in family with a British background, traditional British meals were just part of our regular menu so I didn’t actually eat that much British food while in London. Nevertheless to start off my food journey back home, I made a traditional Roast Dinner with Roast Vegetables and Yorkshire Puddings. Roast DinnerThe next day, I started my morning right with a re-creation of the full English Breakfast I’d eaten in London: Sausages, bacon, eggs, tomato, baked beans, toast, fried mushrooms and finished off with a cup of tea. It was how I remember; greasy, filling and delicious.

086Needless to say after a meal like that, lunch was not necessary. However by mid afternoon, I was feeling a little hungry which was the perfect time to whip up another British delicacy: scones with jam and cream.

Scones with Jam & Cream

